Changing of the guard

The departure of Doug Phillips as Chair of the Australian Banana Growers’ Council (ABGC) in November signalled a significant changing of the guard for the council.

Mr Phillips stood down from the helm during the ABGC’s annual general meeting in Tully on 30 November, after five years serving in the role.

As most would be aware, ABGC Deputy Chair Stephen Lowe was elected the new Chair during the ABGC’s quarterly board meeting at Mission Beach the following day.

The Executive Committee was rounded off with North Queensland Director Ben Franklin taking over as Deputy Chair, and New South Wales grower Stephen Spear appointed Treasurer.

Two new faces also joined the ranks. Innisfail banana grower Jade Buchanan from LMB Farms, and Tully grower Leon Collins were both appointed to the new board during the council’s annual general meeting.

They filled the vacancies left by the departure of Mr Phillips and former director Steve Lizzio.

New South Wales director and former ABGC Treasurer Peter Molenaar also retired from the board.